Oh, I Should Be Sleeping, But This is Too Close to My Heart

Seth Godin has a pretty terrific post on what he calls Sheepwalking – “the outcome of hiring people who have been raised to be obedient and giving them a braindead job and enough fear to keep them in line.”  It’s almost 2 am on a Sunday, and I should be, well, counting sheep (sorry) by now, but it struck a nerve.  We all know people like this, and the companies that employ them – the person is rarely happy (at least for their workday), and the firms in question never astound.  It’s funny, but when you take a diferent stance as an employee and an employer, some pretty remarkable things happen.

We’re a tough place to get in to.  It’s not that we look for paper pedigrees and a well-defined career path.   Pletny of Sheepwalkers can provide you with both.  It’s that we look for people who want to work on really interesting problems, aren’t afraid to make mistakes, and hate being bored by their work.  Our COO – Bryan Burdick – talks about how he likes to hire people with “horsepower”.   Our CEO – Yonatan Stern – want me to find him people who are “smarter than he is” (that’s actually pretty dificult, but I think he knows I’m trying).  We look for people with passion as well as brains.

What’s interesting is that we’ve wound up being an incredibly energizing place to come into every day.  There are a million great ideas, a common goal, and a sense that we’re all finally home.  We’re only 6 years old, and employ less than 100 people, but we’re profitable and our growth has started to rocket.   No one’s Sheepwalking here – if anything, we’re running with smiles on our faces.  Maybe the fact that I’m working on a work-related blog at 2 am on a Sunday is saying enough, but no one’s ever called me pithy.

g’night.

7 thoughts on “Oh, I Should Be Sleeping, But This is Too Close to My Heart

  1. Alex 02/12/2007 / 5:01 am

    Martin

    I’ve read on blog of Dom Lachowicz that you’ve offices in Israel. Are you hiring in Israel as well? I might be interested because ZoomInfo does sound as a very cool place to work at.

    Thanks for and answer
    Alex.

  2. Alex 02/12/2007 / 5:02 am

    Martin

    I’ve read on blog of Dom Lachowicz that you’ve offices in Israel. Are you hiring in Israel as well? I might be interested because ZoomInfo does sound as a very cool place to work at.

    Thanks for an answer
    Alex.

  3. Alex 02/12/2007 / 5:03 am

    Martin

    I write here on your blog about this, and I’m sorry if its not the place.

    I’ve read on blog of Dom Lachowicz that you have offices in Israel. Are you hiring in Israel as well? I might be interested because ZoomInfo does sound as a very cool place to work at.

    Thanks for an answer
    Alex.

  4. Alex Bogak 02/12/2007 / 5:07 am

    Martin

    For some reason I can’t create comment…but if its not the place for this, I’m sorry for inconvinience.

    I’ve read on blog of Dom Lachowicz that you’ve offices in Israel. Are you hiring in Israel as well? I might be interested because ZoomInfo does sound as a very cool place to work at.

    Thanks for an answer
    Alex.

  5. Alex Bogak 02/12/2007 / 6:00 am

    Martin

    Can I ask a question about work at ZoomInfo?

    Thanks
    Alex.

  6. recruiter 02/12/2007 / 9:02 am

    Alex – Hey, thanks for the notes. For some odd reason you were getting pulled into my spam filter.

    So, to your questions: yes, we are doing some hiring in Israel to add to our core development team. Dom Lachowicz is one of our core engineers here in Waltham, so if you’re interested in his work and share similar skills/ passions, I’m interested in learning more about you for our Tel Aviv office.

    Next – Feel free to ask questoins about ZoomInfo, I’m more than happy to gush.

    Thanks!
    Martin

  7. Jason Davis 02/13/2007 / 9:41 am

    hey recruiter, what is the rss feed for your blog. I would like to add it to recruiting.com

    Thanks

    Jason

Leave a Reply

