The Rumours of My Death…

…are just wishful thinking.  Spiteful, spiteful wishfull thinking.  And, were likely caused by my dropping off of the grid for a bit.  Sorry.   Been a little – wait, no, been really busy lately.  Fortunately, I have the flu, which gives me an excuse to lie down (this rest is mitigated by the fact that my 5 month old has started to try and be like his daddy in terms of not being very good at sleeping, but still…)

So, why the hell am I feverishly blogging?  Why did I just use that horrificially trite pun on you?  3 reasons.

The first is selfish – I’m up for an award for best corporate recruiting blog, and when I got the notice, I realized I’d been remiss about posting for, oh, say, 3 weeks.  That’s apparently a lifetime in blogdom (and, in mayflydom it’s like eons).

The second one is more altruistic.  I’ve been thinking a bit about the fact that while I’m desperate to hire great people, I constantly hear people talking about how hard it is to find a job.  Something’s broken.  I know this blog gets read by a decent number of folks, subscribers as well as casual readers.  I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.  I’ll be putting my own up in the near future.

The third is only selfish in the sense that I’m proud of where I work – and I wanted to share this quote on one of several new things that ZoomInfo’s doing right now (in this case, a Bizographic ad platform.  I’ll serve you up a slice, and you can read the rest at Xconomy.

In the world of Web advertising, targeted audiences are gold. If you publish a website that attracts the type of people who drink green tea, then click-through rates for green-tea ads are probably going to be higher than average, and companies like Snapple and AriZona Beverages will happily pay you a higher rate. Likewise, if you know that a lot of CIOs or office managers read your site, you can probably use that information to attract ads from the likes of Dell or Staples.But how can you really know who’s visiting, in a way that you can prove to advertisers? A Waltham, MA, company called ZoomInfo says it has come up with a way. The company’s core asset is a collection of 40 million profiles of people in the business world, culled automatically from information scattered around the Web. (In fact, you might be surprised how much information ZoomInfo has on you—but more on that later.) When those people arrive at sites that use ZoomInfo’s advertising service, the company’s software can identify them, link up their names with their ZoomInfo profiles, and serve ads customized for people in their specific job categories.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “The Rumours of My Death…

  1. [...] The Rumours of My Death……are just wishful thinking. Spiteful, spiteful wishfull thinking. And, were likely caused by my dropping off of the grid for a bit. Sorry. Been a little – wait, no, been really busy lately. Fortunately, I have the flu, which gives me an …good to know – http://recruiter.wordpress.com [...]

  2. [...] The Rumours of My Death……are just wishful thinking. Spiteful, spiteful wishfull thinking. And, were likely caused by my dropping off of the grid for a bit. Sorry. Been a little – wait, no, been really busy lately. Fortunately, I have the flu, which gives me an …good to know – http://recruiter.wordpress.com [...]

  3. Barrett says:

    I definitely think there is a disconnect out there between firms that want to hire and candidates that want to make a move. From the candidates (my) perspective, you work your network as well as keep tabs on firms that interest you. However, the ability to interact on a proactive basis if you have no “in” is almost impossible. In terms of the leads I have going now there is no dominant trend in how I got involved with the firm which makes it even more confusing on what works best. For example:
    Of the 2 hot leads I have now, 1 was generated through my network and the other by applying thru Monster
    1 luke warm lead was generated thru a blind email to the company and a comment on a blog.
    2 other promising interviews that I had were both generated through just emailing my resume in and getting a call.
    So work all angles and hope you get through but it is frustrating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,158 other followers

