‘kay. So I promised you a blog about blogging to get a job. Which sounds dumb when you say it 5 times fast Here it is…

I came across this acticle in Fast Company on the topic, and I’ve mentioned the profile from the New York Post on how we hired several candidates based on their blogs.

I’d like to build out on the FS & NYP articles just a bit. Maybe everyone shouldn’t have a blog. There are a lot of people who tell me I shouldn’t. I actually agree with the latter…

That said, every job seeker that wants to be seen as a cut above should have some form of web presence (and a blog is the technically illiterate’s salvation in this arena).

Your blog is everything a resume wants to be and can’t. A resume is supposed to give a company a complete picture of your skills, why they should hire you, who you are, yada-yada. All that on one or two pages. Fantastic! What a great idea!

Blech. A resume’s a static document that rarely does anyone any good. The best thing you can have on your resume, right up there with your name & contact info, is a link to your blog. This is where they can see that you can write, have some subject matter expertise, and even look tech-friendly. Plus it’s a nifty way to impress your parents…

