I’m going to let you in on a little trick I use to find people on-line – most of my recruiting brethren already know it, so if you’re one of them feel free to skip this.  But, if you’re job seeker or novice recruiter looking for a quick tip, here you go:

Get your resume on-line.  You can publish it through a blog, or upload it (free) through services like Scribd.  Before you do, make sure you have the right key-words on the resume (if you need to, you can simply put a “skills” section listing them off).  Here’s why – one of the ways I dig is to do this: I’ll go to google or ask.com, whichever, and do an advanced search.  In the box for required words, i’ll type (no quotation marks, fyi): “inurl:resume” followed by some terms I want to see (IE, “marketing” “.Net”, etc).  Then I’ll go to the box that lets me put in “must have one of these terms”, and I’ll plug in all the area codes (separated by a space from each other) that I can think of for the area I’m searching for candidates from.  I’ll choose to only see resumes that have been updated or touched by their author in the past 6  months, and hit “enter”.  Then, if I get a shitload of results, I’ll search through them to drill down.  We just hired a Director I found that way, who was just being passive with her search and hadn’t posted anywhere else. 

See, and be seen.  Employment Digest has a few good tips here on the same topic, but I want to offer one bit of advice that runs counter to theirs: they say don’t be afraid to apply, and apply, and apply again for the same role.  I’d caution you to only do that if you’re applying to some massive corporation where your pretty sure it’s a black hole.  If you’re applying to a small company (ie, a ZoomInfo), most resumes do get read on the first application, and if you aren’t called back it’s because of lack of interest or fit.  Applying over and over feels like stalking.

