Image representing LinkedIn as depicted in Cru...
Image via CrunchBase

I do like LinkedIn – it’s a good thing. Part of what I like about the company is the data they pull out, and serve up. That may be because I’m a people junky (“stick them in my vein!!” Hmm. That may get edited out later). One of their new ones is an analysis of the most overused phrases on people’s LinkedIn profiles – basically, words that make you look like… well, like everyone else. The full post is here

Apparently, the majority of the people on LinkedIn are/ have:

  1. Extensive experience
  2. Innovative
  3. Motivated
  4. Results-oriented
  5. Dynamic
  6. Proven track record
  7. Team player
  8. Fast-paced
  9. Problem solver
  10. Entrepreneurial

Hooray! Everyone’s amazing!!

The thing is… really? Because I’ve worked with a lot of people, and, well…. never mind. Just trust me: find some diferent ways to describe yourself. Pronto. Use words that relate to what you actually do, for the love of Pete. 

Oh: and stop using the word “vast”. And trousers. Slacks, as well.  But, mostly “vast”. You don’t have “vast knowledge”. Trust me.  Also: “people person”. Why is everyone a “people person”?  How in the world is that a compelling reason to hire you?

Anyways.

No, seriously, I’m done. Just can’t find a way to roll off naturally. Fin. Talk to you later? Hasta la pasta, baby?

